reading notes

25 08 2009

I’ve been meaning to review my last three reads for at least a week and a half, and even though it feels like I’m on the computer most of the day, I haven’t got around to blogging at all.  Since the books aren’t fresh in my memory, I’m not going to do them the disservice of reviewing them, but instead just note my overall impressions.

First, The Blue Notebook by James A. Levine.  This is the most difficult book I’ve ever read, I think, the crimes in it so horrific, and even though there is hope in the act of writing, in the act of telling and witnessing, I found it a very difficult book to finish reading.

The next book I finished was The Taste of Sorrow.  I really enjoyed this tale of the Brontës and it confirmed for me that I relate very much to Charlotte (which I’d guessed at many years ago when I read Villette).  I felt very much with the characters and there was an immediacy to the text that really seemed to suit the story and the characters.

Finally, I finally read The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold.  It had been on the TBR pile much longer than I thought it had.  When I opened up the cover and discovered it had been given to me in 2002, I couldn’t believe how much time had passed.  I remember wanting to read it when it first came out, but not being sure if I was in the right head space for it, and that’s why I kept putting it off.  I found it an interesting read, and the focus different than I expected.  I’m interested to see the film adaptation when it comes out.

Next up: The Electric Michelangelo by Sarah Hall.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

