review: the winter’s vault

2 06 2009

I posted my review for The Winter’s Vault on LibraryThing because I received it as part of their Early Reviewers program.  I added my review there on Sunday, but didn’t get around to pasting it here until today because end of term marking is making it hard to find the time and to be on the computer (since I mark on the computer).

I received The Winter Vault as part of the Early Reviewers program. Michael’s first book has been on TBR list for quite some time, but has never made it to the top of the pile so this is my first experience with her work.

What captured me about this book was the language. It is one of the most beautifully written books I’ve ever read, with such vivid and, at points, disturbing imagery. One of the most powerful and difficult sections for my to read was the description of the winter vault and the winter dead, which made a profound statement about the cost of war.

I would have to agree with lyricalconversations about ultimately being disappointed with the book in some ways. While I thought it was a beautiful book and had much to say about loss and memory, by the end it seemed to feel as if the characters were crafted to suit ideas and themes and images.

I did enjoy my reading of The Winter Vault, but that was primarily for the language itself rather than for the plot or for a connection with the characters.

I’m definitely planning on moving Fugitive Pieces back up towards the top of the TBR pile, though right now I’m more in the mood for escapist and comfort reading.  I’ve started Interred with the Bones, which seems appropriate since the Festival’s season is starting this week (more on that in a later post, I hope).

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

