reading notes: Little Bee and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

16 03 2009

I’ve finished two very different books this week, though both do connect to war.  First was, Little Bee by Chris Cleave.  This novel focuses on a young Nigerian girl who has adopted that name for herself.  The story starts with Little Bee just being released from an Immigration detention centre in England.  I don’t want to say much more about the book, as much of the power comes from the way the book unfolds (as made clear on the blurb on the inside cover).  It was a difficult read at points, but very, very powerful and special.  I knew I’d love it when I opened it up in the bookstore and read the first sentence: “Most days I wish I was a British Pound coin instead of an African girl.”

Usually, I read books and then pass them onto the Artsy Mama if I think she might like them, but this time around she read The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society first and told me – well, more like demanded that I read it immediately.  It had been on my radar since it’s publication, but I’d been holding off buying it.  I didn’t enjoy it quite as much as the Artsy Mama did, but it was a great read, really quick with a whole range of interesting and often quirky characters.

And there was so exciting news last week – I won some books from Melanie at The Indextrious Reader.  They all look good, but I think I’ll read The Sister first as it’s one I’ve been interested for awhile.

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 04 2009
Sandra

I very much enjoyed both of these stories. It was nice to hear your thoughts on them.

4 04 2009
sparrow52

Thanks, Sandra!

Leave a Reply

