review: the alchemist

25 11 2008

I read The Alchemist for a book club I’m doing at school.  I feel a bit iffy about it.  I think that I do appreciate the message behind it, but the messages were too overt for my taste and the story seemed secondary to the message.

There was passage I particularly liked though:

“My Heart Is Afraid that it will have to suffer,” the boy told the alchemist one night as they looked up at the moonless sky.”Tell your heart that the fear of suffering is worse than the suffering itself. And that no heart has ever suffered when it goes in search of its dreams.”

This passage really spoke to me, particularly because it is something that I try and remind myself of daily.  I’m a bit of a worrier, a habit I’ve tried to break, and some days I’m more successful than others.  This was such a beautiful way of expressing it and it was certainly the one part of the book that really stood out for me

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 11 2008
litlove

That is a lovely passage – I feel just the same. Anticipation can be tormenting and far worse than experience!

27 11 2008
sparrow52

Exactly! And it make so much sense when I read it, but in the moment it seems so hard to remember it and put that knowledge into practice.

Leave a Reply

