review: voyage (coast of utopia part 1)

4 11 2008

So I’ve been reading plays recently.  I don’t think I mentioned it, but I did a basics play writing course.  I’ve been wanting to blog a bit about my writing, but I’ll leave that for another time.  I’ll just say the course has got me writing again, it has got me thinking more positively about my writing, and it has me reading plays again as a way of looking at techniques and structure, as well as enjoying reading a good play.

I haven’t had a chance to see any of the plays in The Coast of Utopia trilogy because nowhere where I can get too right now as put them on.  I got the book in the summer and thought it would be a good chance to enjoy some Stoppard.  I’ll take it in whatever form I can get usually.

I must admit I found it a difficult reading experience.  I had trouble keeping everyone straight and the ideas didn’t connect with me.  I’m sure it would be better on stage.  I’m a bit unsure now about diving into the other parts.  Maybe I need to brush up on my philosophy first.  Actually, I don’t have much philosophy background to brush up on.  Maybe that’s the root of the problem…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

