February Reading

3 02 2008

I haven’t finished any books this week.

I’ve finished all sorts of lesson plans. No, not quite the same things.

So instead of reviewing my recent reads, I thought I’d look ahead to some of what February holds reading-wise.

First off, I’m about halfway through The Book of Other People. This was a Christmas gift. The Artsy Mama picked it out for, seeing as it has some short stories from my favourite authors. The collection is edited by Zadie Smith and the concept is that several authors were asked to invent a character and base their story around that character.

So far my favourite in the collection is the very first story, but I haven’t got to the one by Jonathan Safran Foer yet and I’m really looking forward to it. I’ve found the collection a bit hit-and-miss so far. I enjoyed the first few stories, but nothing has grabbed my attention in the last few I read, including the one by Zadie Smith.

Next on the reading list is my selection for the “My Year of Reading Dangerously” Challenge. I was initially thinking of sticking with the main list, but I’ve decided to deviate for the month of February. I’ve never read anything by Toni Morrison, but Beloved has sat on my self for quite some time so I’m going to swap that in instead of reading The Bluest Eye. My main reason is that I still have about four shelves (and that estimate might be on the low side) of books I haven’t read and reading it will satisfy not only the “My Year of Reading Dangerously” challenge, but also my own person challenge to get through at least a third of the To-Be-Read books by year’s end.

I have several others books piled up and ready to go including A View from Castle Rock by Alice Munro and Engleby by Sebastian Faulks.

But the two above might end up being the only two I get through with my new position starting (and the long commute that goes with it).

Then again, maybe I’ll get the odd snow day and those I can set aside for a bit of light reading.

Or lesson planning.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

