Reading Meme

30 01 2008

Danielle at A Work in Progress posted Eva’s Reading Meme that has been making the rounds and left it open to everyone so I thought I would give it a go.

Which book do you irrationally cringe away from reading, despite seeing only positive reviews? A tricky one right at the start. There’s not much that I cringe away from reading. I suppose it would have to be Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell, which makes me cringe every time I see it on the self, but that’s more because I have started it twice and wish I never bought it. Getting off topic already, have I mentioned that Richard B. Wright’s Clara Callan has the opposite effect on me? Every time I see it in a bookstore I almost reach out to grab it and run to the cash, even though I’ve read it and wasn’t particularly fond of it. And yet, everything time I see it I just have this urge to buy it.

If you could bring three characters to life for a social event (afternoon tea, a night of clubbing, perhaps a world cruise), who would they be and what would the event be?

First I would probably go with Alexander Perchov from Everything is Illuminated because I’ve never laughed so hard in my life as I did reading the first few chapters he narrated. Second, David Sedaris is already alive and not so much a character, but there might be quite an entertaining conversation between him and Alex. And finally, Anne Elliot from Persuasion as I feel a kinship with her – I had to pick someone from Austen 🙂

(Borrowing shamelessly from the Thursday Next series by Jasper Fforde): You are told you can’t die until you read the most boring novel on the planet. While this immortality is great for awhile, eventually you realize it’s past time to die. What book would you expect to get you a nice grave?

I’d probably have to go with The Rainbow by D. H. Lawrence. It has been by far the most painful reading experience I’ve ever had and would not like to re-visit it anytime soon.

Come on, we’ve all been there. What book have you pretended, or at least hinted, that you’ve read, when in fact you’ve been nowhere near it?

I’ve never actually done this. Even in school I read everything that was assigned. Yes, I was that kind of student.

As an addition to the last question, has there been a book you really thought you had read only to realize when you read a review about it/go to “reread” it that you haven’t? Which book?

Not that I can remember. I’m pretty good at keeping track of which ones I’ve read and which ones I haven’t. I’m bad though at remembering which books I’ve bought and are at home on the to-be-read shelves. That’s how I ended up with two copies of Clara Callan. Considering the impulse I talked about in question one, it’s surprising that I haven’t ended up with about ten copies of it.

You’re interviewing for the post of Official Book Adviser to some VIP (who’s not a big reader). What’s the first book you’d recommend and why? (If you feel like you have to know the person, go ahead and personalize the VIP).

That’s a tricky one. I recommend books occasionally, but usually I know a bit more about the person and what they might like. I recommend The Book Thief to everyone so I’ll say that would be my answer.

A good fairy comes and grants you one wish: you will have perfect reading comprehension in the foreign language of your choice. Which language do you go with?

I think I would probably go with French.

A mischievous fairy comes and says you must choose one book that you will reread once a year for the rest of your life (you can read other books as well). Which book would you pick?

Persuasion by Jane Austen. Or maybe The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery.

I know the book blogging community, and all its challenges, have pushed my reading borders. What’s one “bookish” thing you discovered from book blogging (maybe a new genre, or author, or new appreciation for cover art – anything)?

I think the types of books I read are still fairly much the same.  I’ve found reviews of a lot of interesting books and my to-be-read list grows every time I read the book blogs.  I think I’ve discovered a bit more about writing about books.  Sometimes I still find it challenging to write about a book that I’ve read that maybe someone else reading the book hasn’t read.  There’s the challenge of not giving too much away, but also of talking about the book and how it has affected me and making that understood by someone who hasn’t read the book yet.  I’m mainly used to talking about books in an academic setting where there is – or there should be if everyone has read the book – a shared knowledge of the book and I’ve found it can be quite challenging to talk about how good or bad a book is without giving too much away or too little.

The good fairy is back for one final visit. Now, she’s granting you your dream library! Describe it. Is everything leather bound? Is it full of first edition hardcovers? Pristine trade paperbacks? Perhaps a few favorite authors have inscribed their works? Go ahead – let your imagination run free. 

My dream library.  All wood, built in book shelves floor to ceiling and a ladder.  Yes, most definitely one of those bookstore ladders that slides across all of the bookshelves.

I think most of the blogs I read have done this already, but if you haven’t and are keen to give it a go, I’d love to see your answer!

Actions

Information

5 responses

31 01 2008
My Very Own Reading Meme… « A Striped Armchair

[…] Book Corner Sarah (Sarah’s Pensieve) Chris (Stuff as Dreams are Made On) Karen (Morsie Reads) still waters Bookfool/Nancy (Bookfoolery and Babble) Anna (word/play) Danielle (A Work in Progress) Ian […]

31 01 2008
Eva

I can almost see Anne’s face when presented with David Sedaris. hehe It is very difficult to talk about books with giving away too much-I remember reading a debate somewhere on whether book bloggers should worry about spoilers or not. But I guess that’s what online book discussion groups are for! 🙂

31 01 2008
sparrow52

I would be quite the meeting, I think.

It is difficult with spoilers. If you say much beyond the blurb on the book itself then you’re probably giving a bit of something away, but I guess everyone sort of understands that and ventures on at their own peril 😉

6 02 2008
Danielle

I loved Clara Callan, too!! It’s a pity more people haven’t read it–at least I never seem to hear about it! I highly recommend it, too. And I could happily reread Persuasion every year, too!

9 02 2008
sparrow52

Clara Callan is a book I don’t hear a great deal about, but I do it see everywhere – or maybe that’s just because I’m drawn to it for some reason 🙂

Leave a Reply

