What I’ve been up to

16 01 2008

I’ve spent the last couple of days working on a project for my upcoming teaching assignment.

I stumbled across the idea for The Shakespeare Game last year when I was researching a project on using games in the English classroom. I decided, since I had a bit of spare time on my hands, to make my own board so that I could just whip it out when the time came to review the Shakespeare play I’ll be teaching.

I’ve made a board that can be used for any play. All of the blank squares are filled in with plot cards. I can or – better yet – the students can summarize the key plot points of a play we are reading on little cards and add + or – spaces for characters (based on what the plot summary is). If a player is Romeo, for example, and lands on the square “Romeo meets Juliet” (Romeo +2, Juliet +2), the player gets to move ahead two spaces. The F, C, T and P squares correspond to cards that have students analysis a figure of speech, identify the speaker of passage, example a key theme in a particular passage and paraphrase a passage correctly. I decided not to do it just for one play, but rather to a fairly blank board like this and just do the plot cards up as I teach a play and then keep those cards on file for the future.  I also made one adaptation and add a few spots with a picture of Shakespeare with a cartoon bubble.  If students land on these they have to quote something from the play we are studying.

I also decided (while I was at and the laminator was running) to make another game on the opposite. I used the same basic idea, but removed the empty plot cards and called it “The Literature Game.”

This board would work with any book, play or collection of short stories and that was precisely the idea.  I wanted to create something that I would be able to use over and over in many different contexts.

The Handy Papa jokingly asked if I was teaching kindergarten.  No, not quite.  But high school students should get to play a game or two every once and awhile, right?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

