What I’ve been reading….

16 09 2007

Any guesses?

If you guessed, essays you’d be right on the money.  And they aren’t of the creative non-fiction variety.  Instead, they are on the introductory essay writing course variety.

Yes, I’ve been marking and marking.  And when I finished that I did more marking.  It’s going to be quite a heavy term marking wise so I don’t know how much other reading I’ll get done.

But back to my essay reading since it is the only reading I can write about right now.  I’m always amazed at the range of papers.  You get in a lull where you have some weak ones all right in a row and then out of the blue there is quite a strong paper and then you start thinking about how, as an instructor, you are going to help and engage these two very different groups of students and how they even ended up in the same class.  This term in fact it seems that range is much wider than I’ve ever worked with before.  And it concerns me and I feel like I started things a bit backwards.  Not really my choice, more the way the course has been set up and I need to try and navigate that a bit better, I think.

So that’s what I’ve been reading… And it’s what will make up the bulk of my reading for at least the next few months.

Actions

Information

2 responses

12 10 2007
dew

I hope you have a good school year. I know how tedious all that marking can be.

21 10 2007
sparrow52

Thanks for your well wishes, dew. I’m having a good, but incredibly busy term with all of that marking. At least it’s not all essays this time around – there’s a few memos and business letters thrown in. They do say variety is the spice of life, right? 😉

Leave a Reply

