Happiness (3)

18 08 2007

Only one happiness entry today, but it’s a big one…

Things that make me happy:

1. Having a job!

Yes, I’ve got a job for September.  Not full time – yet.  Contract college teaching, but it’s a step in the right direction.

Having a job makes me happy on so many different levels.  Certainly there is a lot less stress financially, but it really is a lot more than that.  I feel quite adrift when I’m not working.  Looking for work when you don’t have any – and when it drags on – can really impact a lot of things, including your confidence.  I know that your job shouldn’t be everything, it shouldn’t be your whole life, but I’m someone who is much happier when I’m working and working towards something and working at something that I feel is meaningful.

And I get more done.  This summer I’ve had tons of time to do things I’ve always wanted to do, but something held me back, particularly where my writing was concerned.  I get a lot more done when I have more structure, more of a schedule, more to occupy myself.

I probably won’t be quite as enthusiastic when I’m loaded down with marking from seven and a half (can’t forget that half!) courses, but for today I say three cheers for work!

Actions

Information

3 responses

18 08 2007
chrisfiore5

hello still waters,

just dropped by to check out the latest entry in your blog…

hope all is well.

peace.

21 08 2007
bruisinraincloud

yes!! three cheers for being employed!!!!!!!

22 08 2007
sparrow52

That’s exactly how I feel bruisinraincloud. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

