Happiness (2)

9 08 2007

I thought maybe it was time to take stock again or at least to start doing it on a more regular basis. Here are five more things that make me happy:

1. Theatre

A summer full of theatre and one fantastic production of Pentecost. I now have a copy of the play and I’ve started reading it through and hopefully I’ll be able to post more of my thoughts on it soon.

2. So You Think You Can Dance

My summer guilty pleasure.

3. Finishing the first draft of a short story I’m (pretty much) happy with.

I had a short story brewing for a little while. The idea itself came about three weeks ago and then just fragments of it. Then over Monday and Tuesday I was able to get the draft finished and I was quite pleased with it. I’ll have to come back and read this when I start the first revisions to remind myself that I actually felt quite good about it at one point.

4. Potatoes from the garden

They aren’t all ready yet, but I was able to find a few that there were fully grown and they have to be the most delicious potatoes I’ve ever tasted.

5. Really good reads

Thinking back over my summer reading, I’ve realized that I’ve read some really good books. Many probably wouldn’t be classed as “literature,” but they were so enjoyable and brought me back to just the pleasure of reading a really good story and that’s something that makes me happy and for which I’m very, very grateful. There was a time when I thought they way I read was changed forever, but time does seem to heal all things.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

