Kalooki Nights

7 08 2007

I finished Kalooki Nights by Howard Jacobson this afternoon. As I said before I was struggling through it, having stopped once and re-started about a week and a half ago.

I don’t really know what to say about it and that bothers me a bit because it seems like a book that I should have something to say about. It was funny in sections and jarring as I said before. I also still feel that because I lacked a certain knowledge or background I did not get as much from the novel as I think other readers could. There was a great deal in terms of character (particularly the narrator) and Jacobson’s style, but in terms of plot I found I struggled sections and I just wanted a bit more.

So I struggled and didn’t find the reading enjoyable in the way that a lot of my reading has been recently and perhaps that is a good thing, perhaps there is a lot more to think about and it needs more time to settle before I really can write about it.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

