This week’s reading

2 08 2007

I have been reading this week. I just haven’t been writing about any of that reading because it’s been a bit slow going. I’ve returned to Kalooki Nights by Howard Jacobson. I purchased it back in May and started it right away, but about 100 pages in I found myself stalled. I decided to pick it up and try again. It certainly is making me think and there are moments that jolt me or that I find quite jarring. At the same time I find I’m struggling and I don’t think I’m really grasping as much as I could or getting as much from the novel if I brought to the text a greater understanding of the Jewish religion and culture.  It’s a learning experience though.

I’ve also been continuing with reading Runaway. It’s also slow going and I’m still finding that the stories don’t resonate with me in the way that other (earlier) stories have.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

