My favourite Valentine’s

16 02 2007

Yes, I’m late.

But better late than never, yes?

Okay, maybe not.

The point is I thought about the day and the post came to me and then I just never got around to writing it.

And it’s not like I have much to say about it any way.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not one of those people. You know, the ones that shoot daggers at the cuddly little teddy bears and velvet red heart-shaped chocolate boxes. But it just isn’t something I’ve ever bothered with much.

I do have a favourite Valentine’s Day though. It was back during the Rent phase – the time when I was spending one day of every weekend in the line. Well one of those days just happened to be Valentine’s day.

It was the coldest day of the year and everyone was bundled up and huddled together and two of the guys had made special Valentine’s for everyone. Not just friends they knew in the line and expected to see there, but just for everyone who happened to be in the line that day. It was a great day of togetherness and community and crazy Rent-heads and one of those crazy Rent-heads was a man of particular interest, which resulted in a very particular connection – though just for the day.

I wont’ say anymore.

Except for this: it was the day that I decided I would never settle.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

