Confession

6 01 2007

I have a bit of a confession to make.

For the past few days I’ve been obsessed with reading anything by David Sedaris.  His essays have brought so much joy to my life (yes, feel free to look at me strangely – the Handy Papa certainly did when I said something along those lines last night as a way of explaining why I can’t stop laughing out loud while reading).

My favourite so far: “Us and Them.”  And if I ever get get stuck with my lesson planning I’ve got an excellent back-up plan thanks to “The Learning Curve” in Me Talk Pretty One Day.   I’d say what that back-up is, but I don’t want to ruin it and besides I couldn’t do the story credit.  Just run out and get a copy if you don’t have one yet though it’s probably just me that’s been living under a rock and has made it this long without reading anything by David Sedaris.

I have to give credit where credit is due – it was a post at Tales from the Reading Room  that lead my to Me Talk Pretty One Day.  I had seen Dress in Corduroy and Denim in bookstores when it came out, but somehow the cover lead me to think it was a different sort of book from what it was and definitely not my kind of book and I stayed away.

Now that I’ve found his writing, I can’t go back.  I’ve dropped every other reading material I had started or was considering starting – though I must admit it wasn’t that hard to put down The Corrections –  and I’m scouring book shops in town to find whatever they have because I’ve been trying to support the little guy, but I might need to resort to Amazon to feed this new habit of mine.

Actions

Information

4 responses

7 01 2007
caveblogem

Talk about great opening lines. Possibly my favorite of all time from Dress your Family in Corduroy and Denim:

“I was on the front porch, drowning a mouse in a bucket, when this van pulled up, which was strange.”

Makes me smile every time. There is no shame in bingeing on Sedaris.

7 01 2007
sparrow52

I’m glad to hear it’s not just me 🙂

8 01 2007
litlove

Oh I absolutely understand about the Sedaris thing. He’s just wonderful, isn’t he? And most of all he’s life-enhancing, so it’s only like pigging out on the equivalent of literary health food.

8 01 2007
sparrow52

I cannot thank you enough for leading my to Sedaris, litlove. Life-enhancing is such a perfect way to describe his writing, because it is more than just the humour. It’s the humour coupled with those fantastic “Ah-Ha” moments that make his writing so fantastic.

Leave a Reply

