happy new year!

2 01 2007

Gosh, it’s been a long time since I posted anything.

I don’t make new year’s resolutions, but if I did, it would be to stay up-to-date with things. And I do have that planned for the new year – but it’s not a resolution. It’s a plan. There is a difference. A big difference.

2nd Practice Teaching Placement went very well in deed. I had less to do in terms of planning, but the actual teaching was my more challenging and also invigorating.

And I’ve been on holidays for the last two weeks and I’ve got one more week off before school beckons again. I’ve spent some time writing, but not getting much accomplished. I’ve just been going back and forth between projects and that just wastes time.

I’ve also spent a great deal of time reading. I finished Special Topics in Calamity Physics. At first I found it a bit too smart for it’s own good, but it certainly grew on me, and by the end, I couldn’t put it down. I had my suspicions about the ending (though it was a little bit more involved than my whodunit explanation, but I had the main figures the right places). Even still, I had the urge to start re-reading immediately.

One of my Christmas Books was Hamish X and the Cheese Pirates. A cute little tale, but after Special Topics and this one I’ve absolutely sick of in-text references and footnotes. It’s turning into quite the pet peeve of mine. I love a good footnote as much as the next one – I used to use far too many of them in my academic writing – but it’s not what I want in a nice relaxing fiction read. I think I can trace my aversion back to that Jonathan Norell and Mr. Strange book (uncompleted to this day – probably because of the blasted footnotes).

I’m hoping to get through at least two more books during my break.* I’ve started The Corrections. Not overly impressed as of yet. There’s something about the book that deeply disturbs me and I can’t quite put my finger on it. I rarely give up on a book because it makes me uncomfortable, but this might be one such case. I also have the new Dave Eggers and The Book Thief on the top of the pile.

I’m working on some other pages. I’m going to try and chronicle my reading a bit more. Keep track of where I’ve been, where I’m going and hopefully the new pages for recent readings will make the sidebar a little less cluttered.

And now a New Year’s toast: to a year filled with peace, happiness and good reads – and oh yes, a job come next September wouldn’t be bad either.

*I have the best of intentions re. reading, but the handy Papa is building walls and requests my assistance. Now, certainly, the walls are for me, but does that really mean I should have to give up precious reading time for construction projects? Yes, of course it does.

(Blasted footnotes!)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

