Age and wisdom

1 09 2006

So I made it through my first day back at school.

For most of the morning, I felt quite old. There were quite a few “mature” students – more than I’ve seen before. I’m not really in the category of “mature” student yet, but I have a good four to five years on the average student. Most are right out of their BAs. I still look like them, I blend in with them, but I am very much not one of them. And all morning, that made me feel old.

But I what I realized later – particularly when I heard from a few of those same youngings how overwhelming they felt all of this and how unprepared they were – was taking that time off was the best thing I could do. The two years of nonesense (as I’ve been calling them) made me ready for this in a way that I wouldn’t have been four years ago. And I think that will help me and I’m even more convinced it will help my future students.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

